Figures and Facts


Location Freiburg
Foundation 1957
Staff 271
Total Budget
30.9 Mio €
Investments 4.4 Mio €

Electronic and optical components based on
III-V semiconductors

Fraunhofer Group for Microelectronics
Fraunhofer Group for Defense and Security
Cooperations approx. 170 partners in Industry and Research

Executive Director

Prof. Dr. Oliver Ambacher

Executive Director


The research of the Fraunhofer IAF is sorted into five specialist departments: epitaxy, technology, microelectronics, optoelectronics and new materials. There is a close exchange between these units as well as cooperation across departments in most research projects.

Additionally, there are two infrastructural departments at the Fraunhofer IAF – administration and technical services. All departments are organized into four to six teams. The management is supported by the two administrative bodies of marketing and communications and information technology.

In order to specifically target industry clients and partners, political actors, as well as partners in science, Fraunhofer IAF focuses its research activity on five business units: High Frequency Electronics, Power Electronics, Photodetectors, Semiconductor Lasers, and Diamond Devices.


Advisory Board

Research Fab Microelectronics Germany